3DS gets a price drop already?

If I can afford it, I tend to be one of the early adopters of hardware, eager to dabble in the latest gaming tech. I know it’s an expensive habit but if I save all my pennies long enough in advance of a system launch, then a new system I shall have. After all, no company drops the price of a new piece of hardware for a fair amount of time right? Well, that used to be the case until the struggling sales of 3DS has forced Nintendo to cut around a third off the RRP less than five months after its release on August 12th (via Eurogamer).

As you can imagine, day-one buyers will probably be a little pissed at the news. I know I am. Not because I don’t think the 3DS was worth the £200 I paid but because if I were a patient man, I could have saved myself a few quid. Nintendo have acknowledged the potential upset they’ve caused with the announcement saying:

“We are aware this may cause you, the loyal fans who supported Nintendo 3DS from the beginning, to lose trust in us, and this is not our intention in any way.”

And before out of pocket supporters claimed death to Nintendo, the humbled company revealed something called The Ambassador program. Anyone who buys a 3DS before the price drop will get ten exclusive GameBoy Advance games via the Virtual Console for free. The full list hasn’t been revealed just yet but so far Yoshi’s Island: Super Mario Advance 3, Mario Kart: Super Circuit, Metroid Fusion, WarioWare and Mario vs. Donkey Kong are all confirmed. But the apologetic gifts don’t stop there, Ambassadors will also be given ten free NES games like Super Mario Bros., Donkey Kong Jr. and The Legend of Zelda.

Now I know the prospect of having cold hard cash is always better than being given a bunch of old games but all that have been announced so far are some of Nintendo’s best. It certainly makes me feel a bit better about the whole thing knowing that 20 classic titles will be winging their way to me in the next couple of months without costing me any extra. Well, other than about a third of the price of a 3DS that is.

Leave a Reply

