Short and sweet

Scribblenauts - just one year for all this?

Jeremiah Slaczka, co-founder of 5th Cell who just last Friday released Scribblenauts in Europe, didn’t sound best pleased when speaking of 5th Cell’s development cycle for the game (reports TVG). According to him, it only took a year and three months to make Scribblenauts from start to finish which is a pretty impressive feat though does explain the slightly dodgy controls and collision detection. Slaczka said “That’s probably the only thing I don’t like about 5th Cell’s development. It’s just how it is. That’s the way it is. We’re competing against companies like Square Enix and Nintendo, triple-A products.” It almost seems like the time was forced upon them and is further strengthened when he went onto say “People hold us to the same standard, which I’m totally fine with – I want them to hold us to that standard. But [companies like Square Enix] get three years, and I get one year. That’s the big difference. I feel like a boxer with one hand tied between my back. I can make incredible stuff in three years, you know. I made Scribblenauts in one year. What could I make in three years with their budget? That’s just how it is. That’s just what you have to deal with.” Hmm, so just why did such a promising game get such a short development cycle? I guess only Slaczka and the rest of his team will know. The future is looking bright for 5th Cell however as they’re currently working on an XBLA game which is “going to be pretty big. It’s going to be really cool” apparently. I look forward to that one!

Leave a Reply

